tarot l'ermite hermit VIIII 9 alone apart art writer unconscious symbol sign archetype myth

The Middle launch

Hello Internet!!!
A little over two weeks ago I launched a gofundme campaign to raise money to publish my first book of poetry.  I have been amazed by the amount of support that i’ve seen from friends and family, but I wanted to find new ways to share/try to build some awareness.  As someone who has been writing for most of my life, I am excited to see my words on printed pages that people can hold in their hands.Over the next couple of weeks, I will be sharing some of the poems that will be contained in my book, The Middle.  I hope that you will help me get the word out or – even better – consider contributing to the campaign.
Thanks so much for reading!
-Daniel

I Shall Speak with Certainty (for Ludwig Wittgenstein)

The world was everything
that was the case: a totality
not of things, but of facts

that the fixed forms
of things & interpretations
had proven themselves
(by very definition) to be
& it is a fact that
a woman is walking
past some trash in a street
in South Philadelphia
but I am in no position to
know this

& there is a man
undressing for no one
but himself in a London flat
& there are tourists
looking for Rohmer’s
grave in Montparnasse
& there is a bird
singing in a tree
in Kuala Lumpur

my room is everything
that is currently the case
so how do I know this?
It is not logical, neither magic
nor nothing but I do not know
what the awareness should be
called; deduction, common
sense, supposition, belief,
acceptance, trust?

But the world is made
not of things but of facts
& there is only one thing
of which I am certain
Somewhere under the drugs
& my body & my brain it is there
& I am the only one
who can say what exactly
it is.

Here is the link to donate/support:
https://www.gofundme.com/themiddlepoems

Leave a Reply

