Fly Like a Surfer: “Dayvan Cowboy” by Boards of Canada

I really love electronic music.  I used to work at a thrift store and I would buy just about every keyboard, bring it home looking forward to the day that I would be settled and focused and with the time to put the energy into learning how to work music production software so I, too, could make electronic music.

I still have a few of the keyboards in a storage unit.  Maybe I’ll make that music one of these day…
And I would like to present to you one of my favorite music videos by one of my favorite artists of the electronic music form, “Dayvan Cowboy” by Boards of Canada.  Using footage from one of Joseph Kittinger’s “space jumps” and footage of surfing, Boards of Cana have made a video that I can go back to over and over again. dayvanThe video for “Dayvan Cowboy” literally shakes and undulates with the music, offering two places we humans are weightless, space and the ocean, as the perfect visual representation of the music that was already easing the weights of our minds….we float along like that for a glorious 4 and a half minutes, hardly remembering how much of the song actually hits hard – full drum-kit and all – when we find ourselves washed up on the beach to go through it all over again, should we choose.  It’s a place where objects moving fast are perceived as slow, where you can change out of a spacesuit and into board shorts in the blink of an eye.  Welcome to Boards of Canada’s world…put on something comfortable, because you might be here a while.  Think of it as Spring Break in a song.

One thought on “Fly Like a Surfer: “Dayvan Cowboy” by Boards of Canada

Leave a Reply

