Eddie Martinez

I don’t know the most about the art world or art history overall. I didn’t go to art school and I was a pretty late bloomer in my knowledge of many of the big everyone-knows-them names in the western visual arts canon.  Also, I grew up without the Internet (my family didn’t have a web connection until I was in eighth grade – which was in 1996 so it wasn’t really much of a connection) so “immediate” access to information on Modigliani came from my parents Funk & Wagnalls encyclopedia set.

eddie martinez the feast saatchi gallery 2010
The Feast (2010)

Apologies for the digression: I am not saying this as any sort of excuse.  It doesn’t keep me from knowing what I like, knowing what affects me and inspires me and sometimes just stirs me.  When I first saw a piece by Eddie Martinez I was moved me in a profound way and it reminded me that when it comes to art it doesn’t matter how much someone knows about art or how much art one has seen, all that matters is whether or not they are moved by it.  The first piece that I had seen by the 36-year-old Brooklyn resident was his huge canvas entitled The Feast (above) and, given my religious upbringing I immediately read a certain Last Supper-ness into it (which naturally has been informed by the art that I’ve seen over the years).  As I saw more of Martinez’s work I noticed a certain penchant toward portraiture (my own artwork often begins from a similar place) that is original in its seemingly crude mixed-media execution as it is in the attention that is paid in each canvas to the 2-dimensionally represented everything of a scene (see The Great Stare-Down below).  Throughout the years, the mixed-media approach that Mr. Martinez take to his work has seen a number of experiments, lately into more strictly-speaking abstract artwork.  This experimental approach coupled with the life that he gives to everyday items – he seems to appreciate that old standby, the table, in particular – which makes looking at any of Mr. Martinez work its own exercise in appreciating detail – his more abstract work, like 2013’s All Inclusive, still bear the marks of representation – in viewing the everyday in new ways, and in sharing in the joy of seeing through the eyes of another.  Thank you, Eddie Martinez.  I hope to see much more from you in the future. 

eddie martinez great stare down mixed media painting 2005
The Great Stare Down (2005)
Martinez_My-Babys-Got-Great-Gams-2007
My Babys Got Great Gams (2007)
Martinez_Table-Quilt-Table-2008
Table Quilt Table (2008)
All Inclusive eddie martinez mixed media 2013
All Inclusive (2013)

 

2 thoughts on “Eddie Martinez

  1. I started my art education when I was in my late 40’s. When I did my Bachelor in Fine Art I was told that one of my electives was digital art and that it was already chosen for me. I was 50 plus and although a great typist knew very little about photoshop etc. I ended up loving it and not long ago did an entire exhibition of digital art. Good luck to you, I see real talent, you just know when you have it – its about pleasing yourself.

Leave a Reply

