Fairytale Photography by Elena Shumilova

Allow your eyes to meet the work of Elena Shumilova. The Russian photographer and mother  is inspired by her context and she has the resources (a great camera and the beautiful Russian countryside) to create photos that celebrate the simple joys of being alive.

animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-9animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-34You will notice that light is just as important a presence in these shots as the any of the characters, and I couldn’t help but think of her set on flickr.  Perhaps this was so immediately recognizable to me because the light is natural instead the bluish-white glow off on the face of someone staring down or off to the side.  I have grown so accustomed to seeing children just as attached to iPhones/iPads as many adults that I have often wondered if there are any kids who are actually playing outside like I used to.  In Ms. Shumiloa’s photos her children can be seen playing with animals, toting sleds, observing the elegance of the world around then – simply put these are people existing in small moments and Shumilova should be proud of her ability to capture them so magnificently.  She is able to capture a sense of wonderment with an expert eye.

animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-6

animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-14

animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-1

“I largely trust my intuition and inspiration when I compose photos. I get inspired mainly by my desire to express something I feel, though I usually cannot tell exactly what that is,” the creator explained to website boredpanda.com (where I first encountered her photos) and I have to admit that I didn’t always know what it was I was feeling either, but these pictures made me feel and long for a different type of childhood than most of the kids (Americans, obviously) I know are experiencing.
[All photos in this post are copyright of Elena Shumilova.]

animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-18

animal-children-photography-elena-shumilova-21

One thought on “Fairytale Photography by Elena Shumilova

Leave a Reply

