William T. Wiley 1970 painting I wish I could have known Earlier

The Wild World of William T. Wiley

I have Bibliokept to thank for introducing me to an artist, William T. Wiley.  According to Wikipedia he has work in the MoMA, Philadelphia Museum of Art, Whitney Museum, and Los Angeles County Museum of Art (to name only a few).  Not only has Wiley been presenting artwork for more than 4 decades, but he seems to not be constrained to any one medium or style.  His imagination comes through in the form of detailed and an intuitive use of colors and creates a diverse body of work that is straight-up mind-bending.  I love that there is a very mystical/prophetic-outsider vibe to a lot of his work, yet other times he incorporates realistic images into his collage-y/essayistic pieces. For all I know, he was once considered an “outsider” but that term is dying more and more all the time, so I suppose it doesn’t matter if he was ever considered one.  I will probably do some more research on him in the next few weeks. In the meantime, check out a few more of his paintings below:

William T. Wiley 1970 painting I wish I could have known Earlier
I Wish I Could Have Known Earlier That You Have All The Time You’ll Ever Need Right Up to the Day You Die, 1970 Painting
William T. Wiley 1970 painting Free As A Bird
Free As A Bird, 1970
William T. Wiley 1992 painting Helping the Child
Helping the Child 1992

Leave a Reply

